Board Profile

CHC functions as a support organization for every hospital served. The CHC Board is service-minded and focuses on preserving local community healthcare services so vital to rural communities. Community and rural hospitals deserve an ally with resources to help them succeed.

CHC Board of Directors

Linda Adkins, CHC Board Member
Linda Adkins has worked as a Legislative Consultant for the Texas Society of Anesthesiologists and is the District Director for State Representative John Zerwas, MD. She was past president of the Texas Medical Association Alliance and is involved in numerous civic and philanthropic organizations in La Grange and Houston, Texas.

Marty Bonick, CHC Board Member
Marty Bonick is president and CEO of Ardent Health Services. Previously, he was CEO of PhyMed Healthcare Group, and Division President at Community Health Systems. He serves as Chairman of the Board, Federation of American Hospitals, and a board member for Via College of Medicine (VCOM) at Auburn University. He holds dual master’s degrees from Washington University in St. Louis in Healthcare Administration and Information Management, and a bachelor’s in Psychology from the University of Illinois. He is a Fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives.

Craig M. Chesley, CHC Board Member
Craig M. Chesley also serves as a Board Member of Tyler ContinueCARE Hospital, Tyler, Texas. Tyler ContinueCARE Hospital is a CHC-owned long-term acute care hospital. He retired from Appraisal and Associates as a commercial appraiser in Tyler, and graduated from Texas A&M University in Commerce, Texas, with a BBA in Economics and Finance.

Jeff Dyson, CHC Board Member
Jeff Dyson also serves as a Board Member of Baptist Hospitals of Southeast Texas-Beaumont, a CHC-owned hospital. He is the Director of MBA and Certificate Programs at Lamar University in Beaumont. Previously, he was the coordinator for the Institute for Entrepreneurial Studies. For 31 years, he owned M&D Supply, Inc., which managed a chain of Ace Hardware stores.

Ken Gordon, CHC Board Chair
Ken Gordon is the former Principal at Gordon Law Firm, specializing in health law, operations and transactional counsel for healthcare organizations. Previously, he was a Principal at Baker & McKenzie Law Firm specializing in healthcare law. He graduated from Tufts University, received his MBA from the Kellogg Graduate School of Management at Northwestern University and earned a J.D. from Northwestern University School of Law. He is active on multiple corporate and civic boards.

David Jackson, CHC Board Member
David Jackson is CEO and Founding Partner of Choice Health at Home of Tyler, Texas, a comprehensive multi-state home health, hospice, and rehabilitation service company founded in 2007. He has experience in multiple aspects of both the acute and post-acute healthcare spectrum. He holds strong healthcare leadership and organizational development skills. He earned his master’s degree in Physical Therapy from Texas State University, San Marcos, and a bachelor’s of science in biochemistry from Howard Payne University.

Christy Lemak, PhD, CHC Board Member
Christy Lemak is Professor in the Department of Health Services Administration, University of Alabama-Birmingham, where she served as Chair from 2014-2022. She teaches and conducts scholarship in the areas of healthcare management and leadership development. Previously, she was Associate Professor of Health Management and Policy at the University of Michigan and Associate Chair and the Michael O. and Barbara Bice Professor of Health Services Research, Management and Policy at the University of Florida. She holds a PhD in Health Services Organization and Policy from the University of Michigan, MHA and MBA degrees from the University of Missouri-Columbia, and a BS in Health Planning and Administration from the University of Illinois.

David W. Pederson, CHC Board Member
David W. Pederson is an attorney with Pederson Law Office, North Platte, Nebraska. He has served as Chairman of the Boards of Great Plains Health, Mid Plains Community College, the North Platte Public Schools, Church Council, and the North Platte Chamber. His law practice, concentrated in the areas of business transactions, estate planning, and probate, represents numerous banks and creditors across the state of Nebraska. He graduated from the University of Nebraska School of Law.

Dudley Piland, CHC Board Member
Dudley Piland is also Board President and Chairman of the former St. Mark’s Medical Center, La Grange, texas. After a 31-year career with the Lower Colorado River Authority (LCRA), he retired as Executive Manager of Generation and VP and COO of GenTex Power Corporation to form his own electric industry professional services company, Piland and Associates, LLC. He serves on the Fayette County Appraisal District Board of Directors.

Ruth Portacci, CHC Board Member
Ruth Portacci is Vice President of Business Development at Ascension in Nashville, Tennessee. She leads business development efforts, performance optimization and growth. She is the past president and a nine-year board member of the Society for Healthcare Strategy and Market Development of the American Hospital Association. She earned her bachelor’s degree in mass communications from The University of Texas at El Paso and her master’s in communications from New Mexico State University.

Jim Kendrick, CHC President and CEO
Jim Kendrick has served as CHC President and CEO since 2018. Under his leadership, CHC achieved recognition as a Dallas Morning News’ top DFW employer five times. Previously, he served with Community Health Systems affiliates as CEO, AllianceHealth Oklahoma; CEO, Longview Regional Medical Center; and COO, Wesley Medical Center, Hattiesburg, Miss. He is Chair-Elect of the Texas Hospital Association, and a fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives. He was named the 2022 winner of the Duce Award by Trinity University. He earned his Master’s in Healthcare Administration from Trinity University-San Antonio, and his BA in Business Administration from the University of Texas Permian Basin-Odessa.